New Graduate Students

Aswasereelert, Wasinee-BS Chulalongkorn Univ, Thailand-Sed/Strat

Bymers, Benjamin-BS UW-Madison-Sed/Strat

Chetel, Lauren-BA Carleton College-Sed/Strat

Eaton, Jonathan-BS Carleton College-Geochemistry

Gittings, Hilary-BS Carleton College-Hydrogeology

Hinke, Hans-BS UW-Madison-(GLE&Geol) GLE

Hodo, Raycine-BS Smith College-Hydrogeology

Hoffmann, Erik-BS Univ of Pittsburgh-Paleontology

Hora, John-BS, MS UC-Los Angeles-Igneous Petrology

John, Rahul-BS Univ of Calicut; MS Univ of Pune, India; MS Univ of

New Orleans-Hydrogeology

Kobussen, Alan-BS UW-Madison-Igneous Petrology

Korus, Jesse-BS Univ of Nebraska; MS VA Polytech Inst-Sed/Strat

Kostka, Steven-BS UW-Oshkosh-Quaternary

Lockman, Andrew-BS Western State College, CO-(Geol) GLE Lowry, Christopher-BS Pacific Union College-Hydrogeology

Moeller, Carolyn-BS Univ of IA-Quaternary

Poulson, Rebecca-BS UW-Madison-Geochemistry

Schmitt, Stuart-BA Lawrence Univ-Geophysics

Valaas, Elizabeth-BS Carleton College-Metamorphic Petrology

Xue, Mei-BS Univ of Petroleum, Eastern China; MS Univ of Petroleum, Beijing-Geophysics

Yan, Xiaowei-BS China Univ of Geosciences, Beijing; MS Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing-Geophysics

Student Annual Awards and Scholarships

Congratulations to the following students who received awards at the Spring Banquet May 3.

Distinguished Graduate Student Award Marwan A. Wartes

Morgridge Distinguished Graduate Fellowship Daniel C. Douglass

Outstanding Sophomore Award

Jon D. Van Alstine

Summer A. Ostrowski

T.C. Chamberlin Scholarships

Alan F. Kobussen Lisa G. Buckley Anna M. Bradshaw Anne M. Skatvold

Benjamin N. Bymers

Thomas E. Berg Award-Excellence in Teaching

Anders E. Carlson

Scott D. Giorgis

Cheryl L. Waters

Stanley A. Tyler Award-Excellence in Teaching

Brooke A. Swanson

Katie L. Thornburg

The James J. and Dorothy T. Hanks Geophysics Graduate Student Achievement Award Haijiang Zhang

The Albert and Alice Weeks Best Student Research Paper Award Elizabeth M. King

Distinguished Undergraduate Award Jana M. Van Alstine

Mack C. Lake Outstanding Senior Scholarship Award Ryan J. Clark

Lowell R. Laudon Outstanding Junior Scholarship lan J. Sweeney

Carl and Val Dutton Scholarship

Nicholas W. Hoel

Laurence Dexter Environmental Scholarship.

Gretchen L. Krupp

Paull Family Undergraduate Scholarship

Michael J. Swenson

Wasatch-Uinta Field Camp Scholarship

Benjamin N. Bymers Rebecca L. Poulson

Reuben C. Johnson

Ahnna K. Westrich

Alan F. Kobussen

Van Hise Graduate Fellowship

Tyson E. Strand



Attending the Spring Banquet and Awards Ceremony, left to right: Lloyd Pray, Mark Emerson and Bob Dott. (photo by Carl Bowser)



Enjoying themselves at the Spring Banquet, left to right: Judy Bowser, Gordon Medaris, Theresa Boundy and Brad Singer. (photo by Carl Bowser)