Student Annual Awards and **Scholarships**

Congratulations to the following students who received awards at the Spring Banquet April 26, 2000.

Distinguished Graduate Student Award

Timothy L. Masterlark

Instituted in 1999 by the Alumni Board, and awarded to our most distinguished graduate student. The funds are provided by gifts from alumni.

Morgridge Distinguished Graduate Fellowship

Eric C. Carson

John and Tashia Morgridge established the fellowship to honor John's brother, Dean L. Morgridge. Dean is an alumni (B.S.'52, M.S.'54). As an early member of Exxon's Alaska exploration team, Dean played a role in the history of the famous Prudhoe Bay field.

Bailey Distinguished Graduate Fellowship

Weston R. Dripps

This fellowship was established by Linda Bailey of Madison, Wisconsin to honor her father, Sturges "Bull" Bailey, who was an eminent professor of clay mineralogy in our department from 1951-1989. He died in 1994.

Outstanding Sophomore Award

Ann M. Skatvold

The award is to assist with field expenses of a graduate student in geology or geophysics with emphasis in the petroleum industry.

Thomas E. Berg Award-Excellence in Teaching

Meredith K. Rhodes

Daniel C. Douglass

Named for Thomas E. Berg who was a Ph.D. candidate here in the 1950's and 1960's. He conducted glacial geology research in Antarctica, and was killed in a plane crash in Antarctica in 1969. The memorial trust fund which supports the scholarship was established by his friends.

Stanley A. Tyler Award-Excellence in Teaching

Blair R. Tormey

Established by Stan Tyler's former students and friends who wanted to honor his memory. Professor Tyler was a gifted teacher in the department from 1937 until he died in 1963.



Professor Dana Geary, left, introduces some of the several students who were presented with awards and scholarships at the spring banquet. Pictured are (left to right) Reuben Johnson, Anna Bradshaw, Samantha Hanson, Ann Skatvold, and Tara Konkle.

The Albert and Alice Weeks Best Student **Research Paper Award**

Katrina J. Edwards and Thomas M. Gihring

Timothy L. Masterlark

Madeline E. Schreiber

Nathaniel P. Stephens

Established in 1997, and given for the best papers by graduate students or former graduate students published in the previous year.

Distinguished Undergraduate Award

Alyssa A. Lanier

The award goes to our distinguished senior student. The funds are provided by gifts from alumni. The award was instituted in 1999 by the Alumni Board.

Mack C. Lake Outstanding Senior Scholarship **Award**

Erich R. Mueller

John R. Gillaspy

Carolyn A. Riess

Cara M. Santelli

The Mack C. Lake scholarship is an endowment fund in the department. The fund was started in 1979 as a grantin-aid for geology students. M.C. Lake received a B.S. in Mining Engineering in 1914 from UW-Madison.

Lowell R. Laudon Outstanding Junior **Scholarship**

Anna M. Bradshaw

Reuben C. Johnson

The Lowell R. Laudon Scholarship is an endowment in the department. Dr. Laudon was a professor in the department from 1948-1975. He was a legendary lecturer in beginning geology.

Carl and Val Dutton Scholarship

Ellen P. Mallman

The Dutton scholarship was established in 1974 by Carl and Val Dutton. Carl Dutton was a distinguished geologist with the United States Geological Survey who devoted most of his career to studies of the Precambrian rocks of the Lake Superior region. He was based in Madison from 1946 until his death.

Laurence Dexter Environmental Scholarship.

Tara M. Konkle

The scholarship is provided from a gift by Laurence and Anella Dexter. It was established in 1985 for students majoring in geology or interested in working for the preservation of natural resources.

Paull Family Undergraduate Scholarship

Samantha E. Hansen

Awarded to a junior or senior, a native of Wisconsin. The Paull Family Fund was created by a gift from the mother of Richard and Donald Paull, both of whom are alumni of the department. Richard and his wife, Rachel, who is also an alumnus of our department, taught for many years in the Dept. of Geosciences at the UW-Milwaukee; they also directed the UW-Milwaukee Field Camp in Idaho for 31 years. Donald has been in the petroleum industry throughout his career.

Undergrad Hilldale Awards

Lisa G. Buckley Ellen P. Mallman

University Book Store Academic Excellence Award

Eron E. Drew

Wasatch-Uinta Field Camp Scholarship

John R. Gillaspy Ellen P. Mallman Carolyn A. Riess Rickie L. Ryan

Nancy C. Slatter

A Herbert and Albert Weeks Scholarship for Geology 459 Summer Field Camp Course.

Graduate Summer Field Research Support

Eric Carson Jeffrey Munroe William Peck Wes Drips Shaili Pfeiffer **Daniel Douglass** Norlene Emerson Jeffrey Pietras Matthew Hildreth Meredith Rhodes Hillary Sanders Elizabeth King Matthew Kutchta Michelle Stoklosa Peter Taglia

Jade Star Lakey

Jonson Miller Maitri Venkat-Ramani

Presented as a Spring Banquet Stoops nomination:

With Colin Walling behind the wheel, Nick Delebo, Nancy Slatter, Matt Kuchta, Chris Cjeka, Maitri Venkat-Ramani, Mike Smith, and Jonson Miller try desperately to save a department van from certain destruction. They were in the UP of Michigan, where they were studying the Keweenawan Precambrian rift basin. The class field trip for Sedimentary Basins was led by Alan Carroll, who also took the photo.

