Faculty and Staff in Geoscience, 2010

Faculty

Jean M. Bahr Philip E. Brown

Anders Carlson

Alan R. Carroll

D.C. (Chuck) DeMets

Kurt Feigl

Dana H. Geary

Laurel B. Goodwin

Clark M. Johnson

D. Clav Kelly

Stephen R. Meyers

Shanan Peters

Eric E. Roden

Nita Sahai

Bradley S. Singer

Clifford H. Thurber, Chair

Basil Tikoff

Harold Tobin

John W. Vallev

Herbert F. Wang

Huifang Xu

Emeritus Faculty

Mary P. Anderson

Charles R. Bentley

Carl J. Bowser

Charles W. Byers

Nikolas I. Christensen

David L. Clark

C.S. Clay

Robert H. Dott, Jr.

Louis J. Maher

L. Gordon Medaris, Jr.

David M. Mickelson

Lloyd C. Pray

Post Doctoral Associates

Tabrez Ali (Feigl)

Heather S. Cunningham (Singer)

Andrew D. Czaja (Johnson)

Rudraswami Gowda (Kita)

Noel Heim (Peters)

Hun Bok Jung (Xu)

Kouki Kitajima (Valley)

Reinhard Kozdon (Valley)

Seth C. Kruckenberg (Tikoff)

Weigiang Li (Johnson)

Daisuke Nakashima (Kita)

Carol Ormand (Tikoff)

Jeremy D. Pesicek (Thurber)

Ellen Syracuse (Thurber)

Kenneth H. Williford (Valley)

Lingling Wu (Roden)

Yang Yang (Sahai)

Research Scientists

John Fournelle, Director,

Cameron Microprobe Laboratory Kenneth Hoffmann, Paleomagnetism

Brian Jicha, Rare Gas Geochronology Hiromi Konishi, S.W. Bailey X-ray Diffraction

Laboratory

Noriko Kita, Director,

WiscSIMS, Ion Microprobe Laboratory Evgenya Shelobolina, Geomicrobiology Laboratory

Takayuki Ushikubo, Isotope Geochemistry

Haijiang Zhang, Seismology

Support Staff

Ben Abernathy, Computer Services Shirley Baxa, Payroll and Benefits Brandon Converse, Geomicrobilogy Laboratory

Mary Diman, Senior Artist

Marie Dvorzak, Director, Geology Library

Carolyn Eaton, Academic Curator, Geology Museum Jane Fox-Anderson,

Student Records/Grad Admissions

Judy Gosse, Financial Specialist

Brian Hess, Thin Section Lab

Patrick Kuhl, Computer Services

Jim Kern, Ion Microprobe Technician

Toby Lathrop, Library Assistant

Neal Lord, Senior Instrumentation Technologist

Brooke Norsted, Assistant Director,

Geology Museum

Jansi Prabakaran, Administrative Assistant

Joe Skulan, Geology Museum

Richard Slaughter, Director, Geology Museum

Peter Sobol, Senior Instrumentation Technologist

Mike Spicuzza, Manager,

Stable Isotope Laboratory

Michelle Szabo, Academic Department Manager

Klaus Westphal, Director Emeritus,

Geology Museum

Associated Faculty

John W. Attig, WGNHS

Brian Beard, Radiogenic Isotopes

Kenneth R. Bradbury, WGNHS

Eric Carson, WGNHS

Lee Clayton, WGNHS

Michael Fienen, USGS

Dante Fratta, Civil Engineering

Madeline Gotkowitz, WGNHS

Bezalel C. Haimson, Materials Science and Engineering

David J. Hart, WGNHS

Randy J. Hunt, USGS

David Krabbenhoft, USGS

Patrick McLaughlin, WGNHS

James M. Robertson, WGNHS

Support Staff Changes in 2009:

- · Christine Damon, financial specialist, retired after ten years with the department (see below).
- Carolyn Eaton joined the Geology Museum as a collections curator.
- Peter Sobol is a new senior instrumentation technologist.



Christine Damon retired in December. A financial specialist who also helped things run smoothly in the front office, she did expense reports, billing, and much more. A party to express our gratitude for her ten years of service to the department was held in the Cline Lounge on her last day in Weeks Hall. Of course we miss her and we wish her a fun-filled retirement.