At the Spring Awards Banquet...



Above: Gabriella Farfan with her parents Carlos Peralta and Abigail Farfan. Gabriella, as a high school student working with Huifang Xu, was a winner of the National Intel Science Search award. Read more on pages 10 and 36.

Center: Grad students JoAnn Gage (ConocoPhillips Scholarship, Berg Excellence in Teaching Award) and Joe Kington (BP Research Assistantship).

Right: Undergrads Bridget Diem (Field Camp Scholarship, Mack C. Lake Outstanding Senior, Shell Award), Samantha Hayes, Angelina Catena (Field Camp Scholarship) and Caroline Streiff.







Above: Winner of the OOPPS Award for 2009, Huifang Xu acknowledges embarassing moments with the field XRD. The winning argument was made by Jason Huberty.

STUDENT AWARDS AND SCHOLARSHIPS FOR 2009

The Wasatch-Uinta Field Camp Scholarships

Angeline Catena Joseph Cukjati Bridget Diem Matthew Francsis Anthony Giuffre Phillip Gopon Rebecca Heiden Sarah Siewert Lynsey Spaeth Matthew Weingarten **Brett Wingfield**

Shell Undergraduate Research Fund Awards

Bridget Diem Hassan Al-Ismail Matthew Francsis George Rothdrake

The Outstanding Sophomore Award Marta Tietge

> The Laurence Dexter Environmental Scholarship

Natalie DeMaioribus

The Paull Family Undergraduate Scholarship in Geology and Geophysics George Rothdrake

The Lowell R. Laudon **Outstanding Junior Scholarship** Samuel Harms

The Mack C. Lake **Outstanding Senior Scholarships** Jessica Masterman Bridget Diem

The Carl and Val Dutton Scholarship Matthew Francsis

The James J. and Dorothy T. Hanks **Award in Geophysics** Laura Sumiejski

The Stanley A. Tyler Excellence in Teaching Award Scott Johnson

The Thomas E. Berg Excellence in Teaching Award JoAnn Gage

The Albert and Alice Weeks **Outstanding Research Paper Awards**

Ninfa Bennington Jason Huberty Penelope Lancaster Timothy Oleson Ian Orland Jeremy Pesicek Matthew Riederer Michael Smith Mark Stevens

> Rakesh Yeredla Jie Xu

The Sturges W. "Bull" Bailey Memorial Scholarship Jason Huberty

The ExxonMobil Research Award Rachel Murphy

The ConocoPhillips Scholarship JoAnn Gage

The BP Research Assistantships

Heather Jordan Joe Kington Dayanidi Ortiz Raiza Quintero Sarah Siewert Eric Williams

The Morgridge Distinguished **Graduate Fellowship** Amalia Doebbert

The Bailey Distinguished **Graduate Fellowship** Nianli Zhang

The Kenneth & Linda Ciriacks Distinguished Graduate Fellowship Paul Riley

The Distinguished **Undergraduate Student Award** Anthony Giuffre

The Distinguished Graduate Student Award Amalia Doebbert