In the News: Honors and Acknowlegements

- Richard Alley (PhD 1987) was elected to the National Academy of Sciences. He is a Professor at Penn State and a Distinguished Alumnus of our department.
- Professor Jean Bahr was elected Vice President of GSA.
- Professor Nita Sahai has been honored with a 2009 Romnes Faculty Fellowship. The awards are given by the Graduate School and funded by the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation. They recognize tenured faculty members who have attained tenure within the prior four years. Nita also published an invited, Review Article in Science, on the role of nanoparticulate minerals in the environment.
- **Professor Brad Singer** had two papers published in Science in 2008 that received expanded comments written in the journal itself. The paper and a news piece were picked up by the local and international news media: US News & World Report: (www.usnews. com/articles/science/environment/2008/09/25/ why-earths-magnetic-field-flip-flops.html) and UW Madison: (www.news.wisc.edu/15676) and it is featured on the NSF News web pages: (nsf. gov/news/news summ.jsp?cntn id =112345&from=newsfield).
- Awards were presented in Houston at the GSA annual 2008 meeting to alumnus Richard Alley, (GSA Public Service Award), WGNHS Director James Robertson (GSA Distinguished Service Award), and WGNHS Geologist Tom Evans (GSA Fellow).
- **Jeff Skiles**, first-officer on the US Airways flight 1549 that sucessfully landed in the Hudson

- River on Jan. 15, 2009 is an alumnus of our department (BS 1984). Jeff lives in Oregon, WI.
- Bill Morgan (BS 1975, MS 1977), current Board of Visitors Vice Chair, will receive SEPM'S (Society for Sedimentary Geology) 2009 Honorary Membership Award at the 2009 AAPG/SEPM Annual Meeting. Honorary membership in the society recognizes those having made "outstanding research, teaching, or administrative contributions to paleontology, sedimentology, stratigraphy or allied disciplines and served the aims of the Society through elected offices, committees, or other significant contributions."
- M. Ray Thomasson (PhD 1959), Thomasson Partner Associates in Denver, received the 2008 Michael T. Halbouty Outstanding Leadership Award of the AAPG.
- **Leonard F. Brown, Jr.** (MS 1953, PhD 1955), of the Texas Bureau of Economic Geology, received the AAPG's Pioneer Award for members "who have contributed to the Association and who have made meaningful contributions to the science of geology." He was also given a Special Award by the Geological Society of South Africa for "groundbreaking work in South Africa."
- Thomas F. Hoffman (MS 1972), senior vice president for external affairs for Consol Energy, was named 2008 Renaissance Communicator of the Year by the Pittsburgh chapter of the Public Relations Society of America.
- The late **Tor Nilsen** (MS1964, PhD 1967), Roger D Shew, Gary S.Steffens, and Joseph R. J. Sudlick were co-authors of the recently published AAPG Studies 56, Atlas of Deepwater Outcrops. Nilsen was active in the writing of

- this major publication, but he passed away in 2006 before the Atlas appeared. His co-authors dedicated the publication to Tor. This publication received the 2008 AAPG Robert H. Dott, Sr. Award for the "best special publication that year."
- Ben Laabs (BS 1999, PhD 2004) received the Gladys W. Cole Research Award from the Quaternary Geology and Geomorphology Division of GSA in November.
- Chris Langevin (BS 1991) received the John Hem Excellence in Science and Engineering Award from the Association of Ground Water Scientists and Engineers (AGWSE) of the National Ground Water Association.
- Grad student **Andy Leaf** was awarded a Best Student Paper Award from the Geology and Society Division for his presentation at the GSA annual meeting.
- GSA student research awardees included grad students Eric Williams, Katie Horst, Libby Obbink, Eva Szilvagyi, and Paul Riley.
- · AAPG grant-in-aid awardees included grad students Ian Orland, Lisa Colville, Tim Oleson, Paul Riley, and Eric Williams.
- Melodie French, grad student, received the 2008 AGU Fall Meeting Outstanding Student Paper Award (Mineral and Rock Physics Focus Group) for her poster titled "Experimental study of the roles of mechanical and hydrologic properties in the initiation of natural hydraulic fractures."
- Undergrad geology major **James Senn** was selected by the UW Student Chapter of AAPG to receive the L. Austin Weeks Memorial Undergraduate Grant.



Alumni, friends, staff, and students enjoy the Friday evening cookout at the September reunion, "From Baraboo to Mars, GeoBadgers in the Field." (Neal Lord)



The reunion's classic field trip on Saturday took alumni to Devils Lake, where Bob Dott speaks to the group while Barb Bickford (left) listens and Basil Tikoff handles the sound system. (Kurt Feigl)