

magnetic data from early Cenozoic lavas that record a polarity reversal in Australia—located directly over the most prominent non-axial dipole field source. With these data we hope to better understand how the shallow core field may influence the process of polarity reversal as viewed from Earth's surface. *Figure 3.* (Left) Contoured angular change from 1900 to 2000 of the NAD field Virtual Geomagnetic Poles (VGPs) about the globe. (Right) (i) Transitional north VGPs recorded in lavas on Tahiti (clustered near west Australia) and West Eifel (falling over much of Eurasia), each case spanning ~200,000 years (Big Lost excursion VGPs, which were recorded at both sites 580,000 years ago have open symbols), and (ii) concurrent south VGPs for the years 1900, 1950, and 2000 (indicated on the map by 1, 2, and 3, respectively) NAD field at Tahiti (white squares) and West Eifel (black squares) plotted on the time-averaged surface NAD field (*after Hoffman and Singer, 2008;* Science).

Student Awards & Scholarships for 2008

The Wasatch-Uinta Field Camp Scholarships Tyler J. Krucas Dale P. Lambert Robert H. Matson Andrew T. Olson Timothy J. Pokrop Samatha Hayes Neal C. Auchter Robert A. Hunter Scott K. Johnson Peter Kottke Diego Sologuren

The Paull Family Undergraduate Scholarships in Geology and Geophysics Bridget C. Diem Tyler J. Krucas

The Outstanding Sophomore Award Samuel S. Harms

The Lowell R. Laudon Outstanding Junior Scholarships Anthony J. Giuffre Jessica A. Masterman

The Laurence Dexter Environmental Scholarships Erica J. Hagen Kevin Kowalchuk The Mack C. Lake Outstanding Senior Scholarships Kathryn S. Bevington Robert A. Hunter

The James J. and Dorothy T. Hanks Award in Geophysics Patrick A. Statz-Boyer

The Carl and Val Dutton Scholarship Laura E. Sumiejski

The Eugene Cameron Scholarship Jason M. Huberty

The Sharon Meinholz Graduate Student Awards Jonathon T. Carter Elizabeth J. Colville Matthew A. Kuchta Elizabeth A. Obbink Ian J. Orland

The Stanley A. Tyler Excellence in Teaching Awards Daniel Alvarado MaryRuth Kotelnicki

The Thomas E. Berg Excellence in Teaching Awards Ian J. Orland Paul R. Riley The Albert and Alice Weeks Outstanding Research Paper Awards John M. Hora Jacque L. Kelly Christopher S. Lowry

The George J. Verville Awards Katharine J. Horst Laura J. Mitchell

The BP Research Assistantships Joe Kington Eric Williams

The James J. and Dorothy T. Hanks Award in Geophysics Drew B. Gower

Van Hise Graduate Fellowship Timothy A. Oleson

The Morgridge Distinguished Graduate Fellowship Ninfa L. Bennington

The Kenneth & Linda Ciriacks Distinguisbed Graduate Fellowship Jennie E. Cook

The 2008 Distinguished Undergraduate Student Alex R. Summitt

The 2008 Distinguished Graduate Student Christopher S. Lowry